Home / Reviews

Reviews

HomeAway Property




Taken from our Gite guest book......

3rd - 17th June
Another wonderful 2 weeks at Le Fournil - our 2nd visit. Marianne and Brian's hospitality is outstanding - even baking a cake to celebrate a "special" birthday. Thank you! As ever the gite is comfortable and well equipped - and again what a welcome pack!! We did some fantastic walks - recommend Mont Né - or the walk to the nearby lake - well worth a drive up just to see the views even if you don't walk. Ask Marianne for details of how to get there. Also the walk from the Col de Menté is lovely. We ate at Le Citron Bleu in Montréjeau - excellent - lunchtimes only though! Our son joined for the 2nd week - for "the birthday" - and he loved it just as much as we do - thank you Marianne and Brian for making him so welcome. Again - Monty and Maddie - what lovely dogs!! So much more to do - as again just sitting on the patio/by the pool takes up so much time!! Therefore we'll be back next year again - why would we want to go anywhere else!!?
Jean, Martin and James Drake

3 June 2017
We've enjoyed a peaceful, comfortable stay at Le Fournil on our annual cycling holiday, our third year year in the Pyrenees. Thanks , Marianne and Brian, for your hospitality and helpful advice. The very best of our restful (relatively!) non-cycling days was spent with the superb local guide, Marc Chatonnay, who led us on a full day's walk high above the Col de Antigascon to see the flora and fauna of the high mountains. We can't recommend him highly enough. It was a day that will live long in our memories. We also recommend crossing the Spanish border via the Col de Portillon on a fine day to visit Bossost, and the Balnea Thermal Spa in the Louron valley. Such a wonderful part of the world here, not least its impressive palaeolithic heritage! We're already planning our next adventure here.
Diana & Louisa Jones Mère et fille

13 - 18/5/17
Despite being a short 5 day break, we felt relaxed from day 1 and wished we'd booked longer. Brian and Marianne are great hosts and we feel we've know them for longer. We love the gite, esting meals outside listening to the bird song, exploring the local history and so much more. We will definitely return, thank you for making our stay a wonderful memorable time.
Amanda and Rob Evans

14-17 April 2017
Our stay was perfect! It was a pleasure! You have a real paradise in the middle of the mountains, thank you for sharing it. We will be back!
Sofia, Pedro, Javier and Andrea (Barcelona)

10-14 April 2017
Our second time in the cottage and it was a real pleasure again! Thanks Marianne and Brian for your warm welcome, everything was perfect and your hand-made jam delicious! :-) Hope to meet you again next year!
Jordi, Cristina, Julia and Yvet

Chère Marianne, cher Brian, Merci encore pour votre acceuil: le cottage est magnifique et nous avons passé une agréable semaine! Votre region recèle de très beaux endroits, et c'est un vrai plaisir de les découvrir, même en plein cœur de l'hiver. Pour clore nos vacances, la randonnée en raquette avec Marc nous a emerveillé: nous repartons reposés, avec pleins de belles images en photo et dans nos têtes!
Sophie & Damien Bois-le-Roi (77)

31st October 2016
This has been the 11th "stopover" (3 nights) on our touring holiday and it surpasses everything we've seen. Many thanks for the warm welcome and everything you've done to make it so comfortable and enjoyable.
Brenda and Tony Marshall

8th Oct 2016
Lovely second visit - so relaxing and quiet, and great to see new addition Maddie to join Monty. Once again lovely gite, great views and good people running it - thanks Brian and Marianne! Hope to see you again one day and will keep in touch via Facebook re the doggie world!
Love Di Eccles

8th Oct 2016
Repeat visits sometimes disappoint - but not this one! Still the same beautiful gite, a friendly welcome and two swims in your lovely pool! And the homemade jam.... I could go on and on.....Thank you so much and hope to see you again.
Georgina Howard x

18 - 21 Sept. 2016
Quel endroit magnifique que ce gite Le Fournil! Nous avons adoré la maison et son confort, la vue spectaculaire et la quietude des lieux. Brian et Marianne sont des hôtes parfaits. Et l'emplacement idéal nous a permis de profiter des beautés de la région. Notre seul regret: ne rester que 3 nuits! Si Le Fournil n'a été qu'une étape de notre voyage cette fois-ci, il se pourrait bien que ce soit notre destination pour 2 semaines la prochaine fois! À bientôt et merci pour tout!
Sarah et Denis Montréal, Canada

Sept 3rd - 17th 2016
We've had a fantastic 2 weeks in this lovely gite. We intended to do so many walks! - but instead have spent hours just looking at the fabulous views from the patios and the pool!!! It's a good thing we have already booked to come back next year!! You have made the gite so relaxing and comfortable Marianne and Brian - by far the best equipped we have stayed in - thank you! When we did tear ourselves away - we would recommend Arreau - the Thursday market is excellent, the walk to Lac d'Oô and Bagnères de Bigorre. Many thanks for your suggestions and excellent local knowledge. We loved Monty and Maddie also - of course! Looking forward to next June already.
Best wishes Jean and Martin Drake, Rugby

27th August - 3rd September 2016
Dear Marianne and Brian, We have had a fantastic week here. The location, accommodation and grounds are amazing. This is paradise to us, and have been moved to tears several times! Thank you for making us feel so welcome. Thank you also for your welcome pack.....the jam was so yummy! Our week here will have a special place in our hearts, simply unforgettable. Hopefully we'll be back next year.
Alison, Simon, Sharnia & Leigh (Lincolnshire) P.S. It was great meeting Monty and Maddie
From Sharnia I have enjoyed my stay here and I can't wait to come back here next year. I have enjoyed having the dogs here on the holiday. I can't wait to see the dogs again, I'm going to miss them.

Saturday 20 - 27 August 2016
What a wonderful week we have spent in this idyllic location! The gite itself is a fantastic base to explore the region, but as much as anything we have enjoyed just being here, having dips in the pool, eating on the terrace with the views of the mountains; birdwatching by day and stargazing at night. Our excuse for not going far was the extremely hot weather, but we very much enjoyed the Roman villa at Montmaurin amd had a walk up from the Col de Menté to the Pic de l'Escalette. Thank you, Marianne, for that suggestion - it was just the taste of the mountains that the boys were looking for! The gite has everything we could possibly wish for (comfy beds, fluffy towels!) and some lovely thoughtful touches - the welcome tray (especially the jam!), the selection of herbal teas, ample supplies of tea, coffee, dishwasher tablets, washing powder, full sets of china and cutlery and every conceivable utensil - I could go on! Honestly your attention to detail cannot be faulted! The boys (and I have to admit the grown-ups) have especially enjoyed getting to know Monty and Maddie - thank you for letting us borrow them temporarily. No doubt we will be in for some serious pestering when we get home (if we haven't smuggled them into the car somehow!). Thank you for a great stay once again, I'm sure we will be back!
Peter, Caroline, Henry and George

Saturday 13 - 20 August 2016
Dear Marianne and Brian, We've had a wonderful relaxing week at Le Fournil. As you probably noticed we made use of the pool many times! The gite is beautifully restored and very comfortable with all the home comforts we could ever need. Thank you for the extremely warm welcome. We loved meeting Monty and Maddie.
Anne, Matthew, Oliver and Luke xx

Saturday 30th July - Sat 13th August
Dear Brian and Marianne (Monty and Maddie), 3rd time here....it feels like home the moment we step through the front door. Once again we have all had a fantastic time! The cycling has been wonderful even if I didn't manage as much as usual but Darren made up for it on the Bales and Tourmalet - next year the Portillon without fail!!! Laying on the sunloungers watching meteors was wonderful and thanks so much for introducing us to your wonderful friends who are now feeling very much friends to us - Peter, Rosemary, Marion and of course John "The ......."!!! It has been great to share the time also with Mum and Dad who really enjoyed the B&B and of course the kids have just had the perfect time! Can't wait for 2017 - it will come around so quickly. Until then "à bientôt"....and we will be in touch soon! All our love and best wishes
Helen, Darren, Alex and Ailla xxxxxx

To Marianne and Brian
My favourite part of the holiday was seeing the shooting stars! See you soon!
From Alex and Ailla xxxxxx

Saturday 23rd to Saturday 30th July 2016
Well we have returned and it is just as good in the summer as it was at Christmas! Thank you so much, to you both and Monty and Maddie, for making our week's holiday so special. It was super to catch up on all the goings on and your improvements. The pool is a wonderful addition to our holiday as in the winter all we could do was admire it! The gite is so well equipt and cosy. We spent our time walking in the Pyrenees, which was something we couldn't do last time - too much snow!! So it was brilliant to revisit sites in the green!! So much to see and do. We've left bits for next time.
Sarah & Simon x

16th - 22nd July
Dear Marianne and Brian, Thank you for the amazing week in your wonderful gite. We really liked the amazing view, the garden and swimming pool. We loved watching the stars, thank you for this opportunity!! The gite itself was very comfortable and clean!! There is much to do in the environment and you always gave us good tips. We will miss you and the dogs!! Family Vleugels, Geel, Belgium
Peter, Inge, Kaat and Floor

9th - 16th July 2016
Marianne and Brian, We have had a wonderful week here and thank you for all your hospitality. The gite is gorgeous and very comfortable! We canoed down La Garonne, walked from Hospice de France to Port de Venasque, saw the caves, the graves and crash site of the WW2 plane near Nistos (well worth a visit). We hope to visit again one day and thank you again for a wonderful stay.
The Fettes family (Dundee, Scotland) Heidi, Paul, Ben, Magnus and Anna

2nd - 9th July 2016
Thank you Brian and Marianne for your very warm welcome. We have thoroughly enjoyed our week in your very comfortable gite which has truly been a home from home. Our highlights have been seeing the Tour de France fly past and all the fun of the caravane and our visit to the Pic du Midi with its amazing views. We have enjoyed some wonderful walks in the surrounding area and the Pyrenees, so thanks for your recommendations. Thanks also to Brian for escorting our hubbies on their bikes in the surrounding area. It may not have been the classic climb they craved but they had an amazing time nonetheless. Thanks also to Monty and Maddie for entertaining us throughout the week. With best wishes
Sally, Tim, Nikki and Steve (Fleet, Hampshire)

Sat 18th June - 2nd July
Once again we have had a very warm welcome on returning to the gite. We seem to have been accepted into the local community and it feels like home! Thanks to Brian and Marianne for the support we received when we needed it most. Love the peace and quiet, the view and the camaraderie of the hosts. Thanks again
Sheila and David Williams Rugeley, Staffs

Sat 11th - 18th June 2016
Thank you Brian and Marianne for a truly fantastic and memorable week. The location - you truly have to pinch yourself about the awe inspiring landscape and tranquility. The quality of the gite is first class with all the creature comforts you could wish for. We hope to come back! Thank you!
Tim, Sue and Vic (Peterborough, England)

Saturday 4th June 2016
Absolutely idyllic setting with truly wonderful hosts. Thank you for helping us make some wonderful holiday memories. We are sorry to have to leave. Hope Maddie settles in.
Best wishes from Sam, Brian, Anna and Harry xxx

May 2016
Dear Marianne and Brian, Thank you for a wonderful stay in the Pyrenees. Your gite is superb - the best we have experienced in France. You have thought of everything for one's comfort and convenience. You made us very welcome and we appreciate it.
Gwen & Brian Atkins Elaine & Chris Mahoney (Newcastle , Australia)

April 19, 2016
Thank you, Marianne and Brian! The stay at your beautiful place has been a highpoint of our vacation. We've stayed at many vacation rentals in Europe and the US, and yours ranks among the very best. Everything has been so well thought out that it was easy to just relax and enjoy the beautiful house and the lovely view. Also, the good local products you welcomed us with were great. The cake, fig jam, the walnuts were a real treat. And we loved the fruit, just perfectly ripe and ready to eat, another example of your great attention to detail. Thank you again for your great hospitality. We would love to come back some day. Those amazing mountains appearing out of the clouds as we drove up toward the Col de Tourmalet were a sight we'll never forget. And we know we've only scratched the surface of this beautiful part of the world!
Steve and Candy Morse, Tully, NY, USA

9 April 2016
Dear Marianne, dear Brian, Having been here 2 years ago I've been keen to come back with the whole family. I wanted them to experience the lovely gite, amazing views and wonderful hospitality. What the two of you built here is truly amazing: the well-equipped gite, the beautiful B&B rooms and great setting are truly one-of-a-kind! We enjoyed ourselves immensely and promise to be back soon. Thank you for creating this little paradise and for sharing it with guests and friends. Big hug from
Andrew & Patricia, James and George

24.03.16
Beautiful house, lovely hosts and amazing days spent in France! Thanks for everything, your warm welcome, perfect accommodation and fantastic fig jam! :-) We'll come back for sure!
Cristina, Jordi & the girls

October 2015
Marianne and Brian, Just to say thank you for a great week in the Pyrenees. Thanks particularly to Brian riding out with me to the Col d'Aspin and Col des Ares - brilliant! Cheers,
Tim H.

I really enjoyed BBQing outside. We recommend Toulouse (park at Basso Campo and metro in), Grottes de Gargas, Pyrenees Hoy is excellent. Katie Sophie and I really liked playing down the canal and in the garden,
Anna x

Friday 9th October
Many thanks for a tranquil interlude in your beautiful gite and a wonderful part of France quite unknown to either of us before. We hope to return! Love to Monty and very best wishes to you both.

Georgina Howard

Will definitely be back for B&B when sorted cat/mum/dog saga and hopefully both of us would like to return for longer next autumn!

Love Di

Wednesday 30th September 2015
Dear Brian and Marianne, Thank you for a wonderful stay in your beautiful gite. Sadly our short stay is over and we have to move on. We like to travel and see as much as we can as we come from so far away but your beautiful home from home tempted us to stay. You have thought of everything a traveller would need down to the smallest detail which was a wonderful surprise. Outside the view and the surroundings are just magic. We came from a stressful 14 hour day job which left little time for sleep to this peaceful heaven where we slept blissfully for 10 hours a day! Congratulations for all your hard work, it certainly shows the love and care that you have for your new escape to the country. Thank you once again and if you are ever in Australia please get in touch. Regards and best wishes for the future.

Lynnette and Brian Brisbane, Australia

29th August - 6th September 2015
We enjoyed a lovely week in the cottage. You could never tire of looking at the gorgeous view whilst swimming or dining outside. The weather was a bit damp for a few days and we really appreciated having the comfortable "home from home" for shelter. Thanks ever so much for all the "goodies" upon arrival. The homemade jam was lovely and the homemade beer a real treat. We appreciated your suggestions on local attractions. The folder in the gite was a real help plus all the books, maps and leaflets you have left for guests to use. This helped us find some spectacular walks in the mountains. Thanks for a great holiday.

Cathy & Zander xxx

15th - 29th August 2015
Brian and Marianne, Once again thank you for such a wonderful holiday in your beautiful gite. We loved the village fete and have made some great new friends along the way. Once again the pool and garden have delighted Alex and Ailla, and Darren and I loved the company for the cycling (I hope my QOMs remain intact until at least next year!). We can't wait until we return in August next year! Until then, á bientôt!

Helen, Darren, Alex and Ailla

1-8 August 2015
Le Fournil is one of those places that you want to go home and tell everyone how wonderful the whole experience is but thinking again - if we did that it may mean we won't be able to stay again as it will be all booked up! So.........we have played safe - booked another stay for 2017, then will return to the UK and try to describe how wonderful it is here! Agree with all the other comments of how beautiful, relaxing, welcoming this gite is and how lovely our hosts Brian and Marianne are. Not forgetting "Monty" who just adds to the whole "Le Fournil" experience. The pool is a big hit with the children to cool down on a hot day! Loved the star gazing as well - amazing! Weather has been kind to us this week with the sunny days being spent in the mountains trying to take in all the stunning scenery. Pic du Midi, a great trip, we took Brian's advice on getting there early to avoid the crowds. The less sunny days spent at other local sites (the blue file of information provided very helpful), just cycling and walking the local routes. We will be very sad to leave tomorrow having been made so very welcome here and just so much more to explore. Will very much look forward to our next visit in 2017.
With many thanks to Brian and Marianne for letting us share this magical place you have. Selena, Neil, Tom (10, nearly 10!) and Emily (11 3/4!)

Honiton, Devon, UK

July 25-31 2015
Dear Brian and Marianne, Thank you for a wonderful stay. The gite is perfect, as is the view, the garden and the pool! And as for Monty.....he will forever have a special place in the heart of our children. Thank you! Merci! Vielen Dank :-) Maîthé, Peter, Bloeme & Riemer

Belgium

11 - 25 July 2015
The Gite has totally exceeded our expectations and provided a wonderful base from which to look at and explore this beautiful area. The ever changing views are truly awesome. Brian and Marianne, you have been the perfect hosts, providing us with your beautiful Gite, your kindness and your local knowledge has been invaluable. We are certain that your business plan is working and the "high end" quality will provide much repeat business. Monty has entertained us also and provided a regular "welcome home" after our sight seeing trips. We feel the "Le Fournil Experience" has given us a great holiday and provided new friends in you both.

Rosie and Neil x

28 June - 10 July 2015
Le Fournil - what a find! Beautifully located with a magnificent panoramic mountain view. Exceedingly well equipped, comfortable bed and stunning bathroom. Marianne and Brian were wonderful hosts - they seem to have got everything just perfect! Brilliant pool and shaded parking were the icing on the cake. We had a great 12-day stay! One thing I forgot to mention in the testimonial was the good WiFi connection. As we spend rather a lot of time on the net that was much appreciated.

Christine & Paul x Barnby, Suffolk, UK

14th - 28th June 2015
We have found friends in Brian, Marianne and Monty! A new area for us to discover and we have been wonderfully rewarded. Can only confirm the positive reviews of previous guests and give no greater recommendation than that we have booked for next year. Exceptional Gite and exceptional hosts! Á bientôt et merci

Sheila and David Williams Staffs England

31 May - 13 June 2015
What a great holiday! Exceptionally kind and helpful hosts, always available but never intrusive. Best equipped holiday home we've ever been in. Such a variety of things to do, from lazing by the pool to walks right from the Gite, to long drives in the Pyrenees. And the food.... Thank you so much.

Derek & Isabel, Aberdeen, Scotland

30 May
We enjoyed 2 weeks here last year so 1 week this year was not enough! Never mind, there is always next years.

Eileen and Stan

3 May 2015
A 3 night stay just isn't long enough. We have had a marvellous break in this beautiful Gite in a wonderful location. Brian and Marianne are lovely hosts, friendly and welcoming but know how to give their guests space. Le Fournil is one of the best appointed and homely Gites we have ever visited with lots of thought, the little touches that make it feel like home. We will be back! Love

Sharon, Paul, Linda and Bryan x

28th April 2015
Brian and Marianne, thank you for your fantastic hospitality. The Gite has been a great base for our house search. We'll be back, either to pick your brains again, to recommence our search or just a short stop for signing documents. We may not have found an exact replica but we did our best! Thank you again, looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Alex & Dave

25/03/2015
Well, what can I say? We have "lived" here in our "holiday home" for a month now and it seems only a week ago that we arrived! Everything has been lovely and done with a lot of thought and care - from duvet covers to, yes, that famous Apricot jam! We do not want to leave - you are our "neighbours" after all! The views you enjoy on a sunny day are amazing. We have loved checking the view every morning to see if our mountains are there. The only blur has been the weather which hasn't really behaved as we would have liked - but we did have one wonderful week and a bit more. Louis (3 1/2) and Freya (22 months) have loved being here - digging in the grange and field and going on "muskrat hunts" by the canal. They have grown and developed - a great experience for all. I hope that we haven't disturbed you with our noise too much. It has been such a pleasure to be here and chat with you. You are great hosts, always having time for your guests.
Thank you!
Love

Anna, Andy, Louis and Freya



© Pyrenees Gite - Le Fournil